Skip to main content

Damon D’Oliveira takes home CMPA Indiescreen Award

Sara Blake, Magali Gillon-Krizaj, Tyler Hagan named recipients of the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award


Gamiela Fereg photo

Gamiela Fereg

Senior Manager, Media Relations & Communications

Email me

TORONTO, December 2, 2022— The Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) today announced Damon D’Oliveira and producing trio Sara Blake, Magali Gillon-Krizaj and Tyler Hagan, as the recipients of its annual Indiescreen Awards. The winners were announced at a ceremony, presented in partnership with Telefilm Canada, at the Whistler Film Festival on Friday, December 2.

Damon D’Oliveira (Conquering Lion Pictures) was named the recipient of the Established Producer Award. The veteran Canadian producer was recognized for significant filmmaking accomplishments achieved over the course of his 25-year career, depicting authentic voices on screen in some of Canada’s most critically acclaimed and commercially successful films and television. A champion of diversity and centering the voices of underrepresented Canadians, D’Oliveira has produced numerous films including The Grizzlies (2018), The Book of Negroes (2015), Poor Boy’s Game (2007), and Rude (1995), among many other notable titles. His latest feature film, Brother, directed by Clement Virgo, premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) in 2022 with overwhelming critical acclaim. The winner of the Established Producer Award receives a $20,000 cash prize.

Sara Blake, Magali Gillon-Krizaj and Tyler Hagan (SSMT Productions) were awarded the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award, which includes a $10,000 prize. The trio were lauded for their impressive filmmaking achievements, delivering important and artistically groundbreaking films, and for the remarkable synergy evident in their collective project, Until Branches Bend. The film screened at several film festivals including its official premiere at TIFF 2022, and was also selected at Calgary International Film Festival (CIFF), Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival (PÖFF), and the Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF) where it won Best BC Film.

“The Indiescreen Awards are an opportunity to reflect on the remarkable talent, creativity, and spirit found in our domestic production sector and to celebrate the hardworking producers who bring Canadian stories to the screen,” said the CMPA’s President and CEO Reynolds Mastin. “Congratulations to the winners, who continue to exemplify the excellence of Canada’s feature film producers.”

To be eligible for this year’s awards, the nominees must have held the role of lead producer on a Canadian feature film that premiered in the 2022 calendar year. The Indiescreen Awards returns to its in-person format for the first time since 2019, following two years of virtual ceremonies due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The award winners were selected by two national juries that also determined the nominee shortlist announced in November. The Established and Emerging juries were chaired by last year’s CMPA Indiescreen Award winners, Anand Ramayya, Kate Kroll, and Rylan Friday. The CMPA thanks the 2022 jury members for their time and commitment.

Established Producer Award Jury:

  • Anand Ramayya – (Jury Chair and 2021 Established Producer Award winner)
  • Andrew Murphy
  • Tina Keeper
  • Michael Fukushima
  • Tara Woodbury

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award Jury:

  • Kate Kroll & Rylan Friday – (Jury Chairs and 2021 Established Producer Award winners)
  • Sharon McGowan
  • Eric Bizzarri
  • Kelly McCormack
  • Baljit Sangra

More information about the CMPA Indiescreen Awards can be found here.


The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production, and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema, and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:
Gamiela Fereg
Senior Manager, Media Relations & Communications, CMPA