Indiescreen Awards

This annual prize honours outstanding independent Canadian film producers. This year, the awards at taking place at Prime Time Online!

What’s new

Applications for 2020 Indiescreen Awards now open!


2020 Indiescreen Awards to be held at the CMPA’s Prime Time Online conference


Read more→


2019 Indiescreen Awards winners announced

See the winners→

2020 Indiescreen Awards at Prime Time Online

in partnership with:


The 2020 edition of the Indiescreen Awards will be taking place at Prime Time Online, the virtual edition of the CMPA’s annual conference. The CMPA Indiescreen Awards have typically taken place in the fall as part of the film festival season, but with the ongoing pandemic, this year we’re thrilled to bring a reimagined version of the awards to Prime Time Online.

Although they will be hosted in a different (and virtual) setting this year, the spirit of CMPA Indiescreen Awards remains unchanged. For 15 years, the Indiescreen Awards have recognized producers whose vision and entrepreneurship demonstrate a commitment and passion for producing Canadian feature films. This year, we will be presenting two awards:

– The Established Producer Award ($10,000), recognizing a producer’s filmmaking accomplishments over the course of their career to date
– The Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award ($5,000), established in 2016, celebrating an up-and-coming “one-to-watch” in feature film production


Interested in submitting an application?


In order to qualify, applicants must have acted as lead producer on a Canadian feature film that has or will premiere in the 2020 calendar year. Detailed eligibility criteria and other important application information can be found in the registration form below.


Apply for the CMPA Indiescreen Awards→

2019 Indiescreen Awards


Félize Frappier

Established Producer Award recipient


Félize Frappier (Max Films Media) received the CMPA’s 2019 Established Producer Award in recognition of her remarkable contribution to Canadian cinema, which includes Marécages (2011), L’autre maison (2013), Corbo (2014) and Ville-Marie (2015). The Montreal-based producer’s latest film, Kuessipan, will premiere at TIFF on September 8.


Christina Piovesan (First Generation Films) – American Woman
Félize Frappier (Max Films Media) – Kuessipan
Jessica Adams (JA Productions) – Tammy’s Always Dying
Judy Holm (Markam Street Films) – Level 16
Lori Lozinski (Violator Fimls) – The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open


Jennifer Weiss (Producer, The Film Farm) – Jury Chair and 2018 Established Producer Award co-winner
Trish Dolman (Producer, Screen Siren Pictures)
Jeremy Spry (Producer, DATSIT Sphère)
Mary Walsh (Actress and Writer)
Tonya Williams (Founder, Executive and Artistic Director, Reelworld Film Festival)


Kevin Krikst & Fraser Ash

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award recipients


Rhombus Media’s Kevin Krikst and Fraser Ash were jointly named winners of the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award, recognizing their remarkable talents as early-career feature film producers. Their latest film, Clifton Hill, which premieres this evening, is the pair’s second film. Krikst and Ash’s first feature, Closet Monster, premiered at the festival in 2015.


Julie Strifler (Endgame Films) – Easy Land
Katie Bird Nolan & Lindsay Tapscott (Babe Nation Films) – The Rest of Us
Kevin Krikst & Fraser Ash (Rhombus Media) – Disappearance at Clifton Hill
Lana Belle Mauro (Shed Creative) – Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band
Sara Blake (Ceroma Films) – Raf


Caitlin Grabham (Producer, Prowler Film) – Jury Chair and 2018 Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award winner
Cory Bowles (Actor, Writer and Director)
Tyson Caron (Director and Producer)
Hannah Cheesman (Actress, Writer, Director and Producer)
Erica Proudlock (Executive in Charge of Programs & Talent, Canadian Film Centre)


Read the winner announcement→


About the awards

Established in 2006, the CMPA Indiescreen Awards recognize producers whose vision and entrepreneurship demonstrate a commitment and passion for producing Canadian feature films. Two awards are handed out every year: the Established Producer Award and the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award.

Past recipients include Roger Frappier (2016, Two Lovers and A Bear), Robert Lantos (2015, Remember), Nancy Grant (2014, Mommy) and Kevin Tierney (2009, The Trotsky).

The Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award was added to the Indiescreen Awards program in 2016 to highlight the extraordinary talents of an up-and-coming producer with a bright career ahead.

Winners of both awards are chosen by two separate juries out of the independent Canadian films selected to screen at one of the four leading Canadian film festivals: the Calgary International Film Festival, FIN Atlantic International Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival and Vancouver International Film Festival.



Can’t find the answer you’re looking for below? Email us at


Who is eligible to apply?

Any independent producer with a feature-length Canadian film released in the 2020 calendar year is eligible to apply for an Indiescreen Award.

Do I have to be a CMPA member to win an Indiescreen Award?

No, it is only required that the applicant is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

I am a previous Indiescreen Award winner, am I eligible to apply again?

Previous winners of Established Producer Award are welcome to reapply five years after their award win. Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award winners may apply again after three years.

Who chooses the winners?

Winners are chosen by two separate juries (one for the Established Producer Award and one for Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award) out of applications received.

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at the next edition of the CMPA’s annual conference, Prime Time Online, taking place from January 28 to February 10, 2021.

Past winners

2017 CMPA Indiescreen Awards

View gallery→