Skip to main content

CMPA announces 2023 Indiescreen Awards nominees


Gamiela Fereg photo

Gamiela Fereg

Senior Manager, Media Relations & Communications

Email me
Top row, left to right: Established Producer Award nominees, Tanya Brunel, Niv Fichman, Fraser Ash, Kevin Krikst, Nancy Grant, Jason Levangie, Marc Tetreault
Middle row, left to right: William Woods, Alison White, Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer nominees, Anam Abbas
Bottom row, left to right: Michael Tanko Grand, Alona Metzer, Sean O’Neill, Andria Wilson Mirza

TORONTO, August 21, 2023 — Today, the Canadian Media Producers Association unveiled the nominees for its annual Indiescreen Awards. The awards recognize excellence among Canada’s independent feature film producers, honoring producers whose vision and entrepreneurship demonstrate a commitment and passion for producing Canadian feature films.

The Established Producer Award recognizes a producer’s (or production team’s) filmmaking accomplishments over the course of their career, and comes with a $20,000 prize. This year the Established Producer Award nominees are:

  • Tanya Brunel (Logical Mayhem, Rezolution Pictures) – Coming Home (Wanna Icipus Kupi)
  • Niv Fichman, Fraser Ash, Kevin Krikst (Rhombus Media) – Blackberry
  • Nancy Grant (Metafilms) – Simple Comme Sylvain (The Nature of Love)
  • Jason Levangie, Marc Tetreault (Shut Up and Colour Pictures Inc.) – The Queen of My Dreams
  • William Woods, Alison White (Woods Entertainment, Sara Fost Pictures) – The King Tide

The Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award recognizes a producer’s (or production team’s) early filmmaking accomplishments and bright career prospects, and comes with a $10,000 prize. This year the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award nominees are:

  • Anam Abbas (Other Memory Media, Citylights Media Inc.) – In Flames
  • Michael Tanko Grand (Grand Scheme Productions Inc, 666 Films Inc.) – Satan Wants You
  • Alona Metzer (Leilani Films) – Backspot
  • Sean O’Neill (Visitor Media) – Swan Song
  • Andria Wilson Mirza (Baby Daal Productions) – The Queen of My Dreams

“Canada’s independent producers continue to raise the bar, delivering compelling movies that both entertain and inspire,” said Andrew Addison, the CMPA’s Vice-President of Communications, Marketing and Membership. “This year’s nominees have demonstrated an impressive capacity to stand out in an incredibly tough industry.”

The winners will be announced at the Indiescreen Awards ceremony scheduled to take place at the Toronto International Film Festival on September 7, presented in partnership with Telefilm Canada. The event will take place at the Glenn Gould Studio at 250 Front St. West from 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. ET.

To be eligible for the Indiescreen Awards, nominees must have acted as a producer on a Canadian feature film that premiered in the 2023 calendar year. The nominees and winner for Indiescreen Awards are selected by national juries, each consisting of five industry leaders and chaired by the previous year’s winners.

More information about the CMPA Indiescreen Awards can be found here.


The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production, and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema, and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:

Gamiela Fereg
Senior Manager, Media Relations & Communications, CMPA