Skip to main content

Indiescreen Awards

Presented in partnership with:


Jakub Jasinski photo

Jakub Jasinski

Senior Manager, Events & Member Services

Email me

Questions? Email us at

The Established Producer Award application

The deadline to apply is Friday, July 19, 2024 at noon (local)

The Established Producer Award celebrates a producer’s filmmaking accomplishments over the course of their career to date, and includes a $20,000 prize.

Five nominees will be selected in each category by juries consisting of five industry leaders, and chaired by the previous year’s Indiescreen Award winners.

The awards jury spends a significant amount of time reviewing answers to the questions posed in the application form and deliberating based on them. It is recommend that applicants take care and provide detailed, thoughtful responses. Your effort in writing up your answers can influence the jury’s evaluation of your submission.

Nominated producers are encouraged to attend the awards, in-person in Halifax, Nova Scotia on Thursday, September 12, 2024. The CMPA will provide out-of-province nominees with a travel stipend to attend the awards ceremony in Halifax.

Please note, if applying as a producing team, only one travel stipend will be allotted per nominee.

Eligibility criteria

  • Applicant(s) must apply with one “qualifying film.” A qualifying film must:
    • Be a CAVCO-certified Canadian film (in the case of co-productions, the film must be a majority Canadian production);
    • Have premiered or be slated to premiere theatrically, at a film festival or on an online streaming service in the 2024 calendar year; and
    • Have a runtime of at least 80 minutes.
  • The qualifying film cannot be submitted more than once, meaning:
    • It cannot be submitted in both the established and emerging categories.
    • It cannot be resubmitted if it was submitted for last year’s Indiescreen Awards.
  • The applicant producer(s) must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada.
  • Previous winners of the Established Producer Award (or the CMPA Feature Film Producer Award) are welcome to reapply five years after their award win.

  • The Established Producer Award, presented annually since 2006, recognizes a Canadian independent feature film producer’s body of work, as well as their contribution toward defining the reputation of Canadian cinema on the world stage.
    • Producers wishing to apply for the Established Producer Award as a team must have produced at least four feature films together over the course of their career. This includes their qualifying film. 
    • Producers who have jointly produced a qualifying film but do not have a history of working together on previous films, may apply with separate applications. In this situation each of the producers would highlight their individual bodies of work, in addition to the qualifying film, and the jury would evaluate each of the applications independently.
      • This means the two (or more) producers in question would be competing against each other, as well as the other nominees, for the single award; individual applicants would not share the award.
  • Applicants are also invited to submit a second screener for a previous film that they believe, taken with their qualifying film, helps illustrate the breadth of their body of work. The submission of a second film is not required. 
  • Applicants are not required to be CMPA members.

Materials needed:

  • Headshot(s) of producer (or producing team)
  • Screener link for qualifying film (with screener password, if applicable)
  • OPTIONAL – Screener link for film that helps illustrate the breadth of applicant’s body of work
  • Publicity still(s) for qualifying film

Please ensure headshot(s) and publicity still(s) are high-quality images, suitable for printing.