Press release

Jan 12, 2021

CMPA announces Indiescreen Awards nominees

Winners of Established Producer Award and Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award to be unveiled at CMPA’s Prime Time Online conference on February 10

TORONTO, January 12, 2021 — Today, the Canadian Media Producers Association announced the nominees for the 15th annual Indiescreen Awards. The annual prize honours Canadian independent producers and their contributions to Canada’s feature film production sector. The winners of both the Established Producer and Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer categories will be announced at a live virtual ceremony, presented in partnership with Telefilm Canada, as part of the CMPA’s Prime Time Online conference, on February 10, 2021.

“As we reckon with the profound impacts of COVID-19 on the independent Canadian film sector, this diverse group of incredible producers serve as an unmistakable reminder that the future of this industry remains bright,” said the CMPA’s President and CEO, Reynolds Mastin. “Their passion, tenacity and dedication to the craft of Canadian filmmaking epitomize the qualities we need as an industry to make it through on the other side of this stronger than ever.”

The 2020 Indiescreen Awards nominees are:

Established Producer Award nominees

    • Tanya Brunel & Jeremy Torrie (White Bear Films) – The Corruption of Divine Providence
    • Trish Dolman (Screen Siren Pictures) & Christine Haebler (Terminal City Pictures) – French Exit
    • Jennifer Holness (Hungry Eyes Media) – Stateless
    • Lori Lozinski (Violator Films) – Sugar Daddy
    • Sarah Spring (Parabola Films) – No Ordinary Man

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award nominees

    • Ana de Lara (Blue Lake Films) – All-In Madonna
    • Dominique Dussault (Nemesis Films) – Nadia, Butterfly
    • Julie Groleau (Couronne Nord) – Jusqu’au déclin (The Decline)
    • Caleb Ryan (Dos Gatos Negros Films) – Vagrant
    • Jake Yanowski & Charles Officer (Canesugar Filmworks) – Akilla’s Escape

The $10,000 Established Producer Award, recognizes a producer’s (or production team’s) filmmaking accomplishments and contributions to Canada’s film production community over the course of their career to date. The $5,000 Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award was established in 2016, and celebrates an up-and-coming independent feature film producer (or production team) whose early career work indicates a bright career ahead. The award nominees were selected by two national juries, each consisting of five yet-be-announced industry leaders. The juries will also select the winners.

To qualify for this year’s Indiescreen Awards, the nominees must have acted as lead producer on a Canadian feature film that premiered in the 2020 calendar year. The awards, which typically take place in September, were postponed due to the ongoing pandemic.

The Indiescreen Awards ceremony will take place on February 10 at 4:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm PT. The awards ceremony is open to all Prime Time Online delegates. To register for the Prime Time Online conference (for free) visit

More information about the CMPA Indiescreen Awards and the nominees can be found here.

The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production, and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema, and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:

Kyle O’Byrne
Manager, Media Relations & Communications, CMPA