Press release

Feb 10, 2021

Jennifer Holness wins CMPA Indiescreen Award

Dominique Dussault named recipient of the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award

TORONTO, February 10, 2021 – The Canadian Media Producers Association today announced Jennifer Holness and Dominique Dussault as the recipients of its annual Indiescreen Awards. The honours were given out this afternoon as part of the CMPA’s closing reception for its annual Prime Time conference, held virtually this year in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Jennifer Holness (Hungry Eyes Media) was named the recipient of the Established Producer Award in recognition of her contribution to Canada’s film industry and incredible career achievements, which include Home Again (2012), Badge of Pride (2010), and Love, Sex and Eating the Bones (2003). Holness’s latest feature documentary, Stateless, won the Special Jury Prize at the 2020 Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival. The Established Producer Award includes a $10,000 cash prize.

Dominique Dussault (Nemesis Films) was awarded the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award, which includes a $5,000 prize, for her remarkable filmmaking accomplishments as an early-career film producer with an exciting future ahead. Her latest film Nadia, Butterfly was a 2020 Cannes Film Festival Official Selection.

“Despite many challenges, the Canadian film sector continues to show impressive resilience in the face of the pandemic,” said the CMPA’s President and CEO Reynolds Mastin. “The winners announced today demonstrate a spirit of perseverance that is woven into the fabric of domestic production, and their ambitious work is a reminder of the bright future that lies ahead for the Canadian film industry.”

To qualify for this year’s awards, the nominees must have held the role of lead producer on a Canadian feature film that premiered in the 2020 calendar year. The awards, which typically take place in September, were postponed due to the pandemic.

The award nominees were selected by two national juries that also determined the nominee shortlist announced in January. The Established and Emerging juries were chaired by last year’s CMPA Indiescreen Award winners, Félize Frappier, Kevin Krikst, and Fraser Ash. The CMPA thanks the 2020 jury members for their time and commitment.

Established Producer Award Jury:

  • Félize Frappier (Jury Chair and 2019 Established Producer Award winner)
  • Julian Black Antelope
  • Karen Bruce
  • Andrew Cividino
  • Haydn Wazelle

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award Jury:

  • Kevin Krikst and Fraser Ash (Jury Co-Chairs and 2019 Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award co-winners)
  • Tyler Hagan
  • Kawennáhere Devery Jacobs
  • Joy Loewen
  • Mina Shum

More information about the CMPA Indiescreen Awards can be found here.


The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production, and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema, and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:

Kyle O’Byrne
Manager, Media Relations & Communications, CMPA