Press release

Sep 28, 2015

CMPA’s Prime Time returns with stellar lineup of guest speakers

Registration is now open

OTTAWA, September 28, 2015—The Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA) has revealed today an exciting lineup of speakers for Prime Time in Ottawa 2016, which will take place February 3-5 at The Westin Ottawa. Industry leaders will descend on the nation’s capital to participate in discussions and panels, including industry heavyweights Barb Williams, President of Shaw Media and Executive Vice President of Broadcasting; Heather Conway, Executive Vice President, CBC; Janet Brown, CEO, Film Buff; Noreen Halpern, President, Halfire-CORE Entertainment; John Young, Managing Director, Temple Street Productions; David Cormican, EVP, Business Development & Production and Partner, Don Carmody Television, and Jim Kiriakakis, Producer, Buck Productions. Registration for early bird pricing is now open until December 11, 2015. Visit for more details.

Prime Time will focus on innovation, entrepreneurship, and growth by exploring new opportunities in international and digital markets, and in the evolution of legacy media. Panels and keynotes will explore best practices for accessing the global broadcast market, opportunities in branded entertainment, packaging strategies from leading agents, innovations in storytelling, a broadcast look-ahead, selling into digital platforms, and much more.

“We are very excited to bring together some of our industry’s most talented voices for our next edition of Prime Time in Ottawa,” said Reynolds Mastin, President and CEO of the CMPA.  “Prime Time has become a must-attend event for professionals working in the TV and digital industries and we are honoured to be paving the way for these important discussions.”

“Rapid change is a constant in our industry, and Prime Time embraces this by focusing on new, leading-edge business strategies while not losing track of what’s working today,” said Marguerite Pigott, CMPA’s Vice President of Outreach and Strategic Initiatives. “Delegates will benefit from Prime Time’s remarkable Advisory Board whose expertise has sharpened the relevance and depth of our programming.”

The 2016 Prime Time Advisory Board are Val Creighton, President and CEO, Canada Media Fund; Noreen Halpern, President CORE Halfire Entertainment; Marty Katz, President, Prospero; Michael Klein, EVP Programming and Content Strategy, Digital Channels for Condé Nast Entertainment; Reynolds Mastin, President & CEO, Canadian Media Production Association; Tracey Pearce, SVP, Specialty and Pay, Bell Media; Jason Ropell, Head of International Content Acquisition, Amazon; Catherine Tait, President, Duopoly; Quinn Taylor, EVP Movies, Mini-series and International Co-productions, NBC; and John Young, Managing Director, Temple Street Productions.

Taking place February 3 – 5, a month earlier than in past years, Prime Time offers a premium networking experience, amplified by the successful ‘Breakfast With’ initiative for delegates to meet with industry buyers and experts. Registration is open now, with the early bird rate and travel and accommodation discounts available.