Press release

Jul 10, 2018

CMPA applauds appointment of Joanne Levy to CRTC

OTTAWA, July 10, 2018 – Today, the Canadian Media Producers Association released the following statement on behalf of its President and CEO Reynolds Mastin congratulating Joanne Levy on her appointment to the position of Commissioner for Manitoba and Saskatchewan of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC):

“We welcome Minister Joly’s appointment of Joanne Levy to the CRTC. Her extensive background in production, broadcasting and journalism will bring to the CRTC a well-balanced and vital perspective to a deep bench of commissioners headed by Ian Scott.

As the first independent producer named to the commission, Ms. Levy’s appointment is another important marker in Minister Joly’s continuing commitment to establish a new regulatory framework that will enable Canada’s creative sector to thrive for decades to come.”

– 30 –

The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:
Kyle O’Byrne
Manager, Media Relations & Communications
Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA)