Press release

Nov 15, 2022

CMPA announces Indiescreen Awards nominees

Winners to be revealed at the Whistler Film Festival on December 2

Top (L-R): Established Producer Award nominees, Sylvain Corbeil, Damon D’Oliveira, Terry Greenlaw, Jamie Manning, Michael Peterson
Bottom (L-R): Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award nominees, Lindsay Tapscott, Katie Bird Nolan, Sara Blake, Magali Gillon-Krizaj, Tyler Hagan, Norm Coyne, Shant Joshi, Alexandra Roberts, Danny Sedore

TORONTO, November 15, 2022 – Today, the Canadian Media Producers Association unveiled the nominees for its annual Indiescreen Awards. Nominees for both the Established Producer and the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer categories were announced during the Playback Film Summit. The Indiescreen Awards recognize excellence among Canada’s independent feature film producers, honoring producers whose vision and entrepreneurship demonstrate a commitment and passion for producing Canadian feature films.

Established Producer Award nominees

  • Sylvain Corbeil (Metafilms) – Falcon Lake
  • Damon D’Oliveira (Conquering Lion Pictures) – Brother
  • Terry Greenlaw (Picture Plant Limited) – Bystanders
  • Jamie Manning (Night Market) – Rosie
  • Michael Peterson (Peterson Polaris Corp) – Dark Nature

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award nominees

  • Katie Bird Nolan, Lindsay Tapscott (Babe Nation Films) – Alice, Darling
  • Sara Blake, Magali Gillon-Krizaj, Tyler Hagan (SSMT Productions) – Until Branches Bend
  • Norm Coyne (Barker Street Cinema) – The Way to the Heart
  • Shant Joshi (Fae Pictures) – Framing Agnes
  • Alexandra Roberts, Danny Sedore (Push Pictures) – Soft

“The quality of the films and the caliber of the producers that make up this year’s Indiescreen Awards nominees showcase the impressive creative talent and technical excellence of Canada’s feature film producers,” said Reynolds Mastin, President and CEO, CMPA. “Congratulations to all the nominees—Canadian feature film has never shone brighter.”

The recipients will be announced at the Indiescreen Awards ceremony scheduled to take place at the Whistler Film Festival on December 2, presented in partnership with Telefilm Canada.

To be eligible for the Indiescreen Awards, nominees must have acted as lead producer on a Canadian feature film that premiered in the 2022 calendar year.

Earlier this year the CMPA announced a doubling of the prize money for the awards, increasing the Established Producer award to $20,000 and the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer award to $10,000.

The nominees and winner for Indiescreen Awards are selected by national juries, each consisting of five industry leaders and chaired by the previous year’s winners.

More information about the CMPA Indiescreen Awards can be found here.


The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production, and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema, and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:

Gamiela Fereg
Senior Manager, Media Relations & Communications, CMPA