Press release

Aug 20, 2019

CMPA announces 2019 Indiescreen Awards nominees

Established Producer Award and Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award winners to be unveiled September 5 at TIFF

TORONTO, August 20, 2019The Canadian Media Producers Association today announced the nominees for the 2019 CMPA Indiescreen Awards. The annual prize honours a veteran independent producer who has made significant contributions to Canada’s film production sector, and an up-and-coming producer whose early work embodies the next generation of Canadian filmmaking. Both winners will be revealed at the CMPA Indiescreen Awards reception on September 5, as part of the opening day of the Toronto International Film Festival.

“For more than a decade, the Indiescreen Awards has established a strong reputation for recognizing some of our country’s most talented and innovative independent producers,” said Reynolds Mastin, the CMPA’s President and CEO. “Looking at this year’s incredible roster of nominees, it’s clear that this exceptional track-record lives on.”

This year the CMPA expanded the Indiescreen Awards nominee eligibility, adding three marquee film festivals from across Canada. In addition to TIFF, which has long been a strong supporter of the awards, the 2019 applications were open to producers with films screening at the Calgary International Film Festival, FIN: Atlantic International Film Festival, and the Vancouver International Film Festival.

The 2019 Indiescreen Awards nominees are:

Established Producer Award

  • Christina Piovesan, First Generation Films (American Woman)
  • Félize Frappier, Max Films Media (Kuessipan)
  • Jessica Adams, JA Productions (Tammy’s Always Dying)
  • Judy Holm, Markham Street Films (Level 16)
  • Lori Lozinski, Violator Films (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)

Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award

  • Julie Strifler, Endgame Films (Easy Land)
  • Katie Bird Nolan & Lindsay Tapscott, Babe Nation Films (The Rest of Us)
  • Kevin Krikst & Fraser Ash, Rhombus Media (Clifton Hill)
  • Lana Belle Mauro, Shed Creative (Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band)
  • Sara Blake, Ceroma Films (Raf)

The winner of the Established Producer Award will receive $10,000 and the winner of the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award will receive $5,000. Award winners will be selected by two national juries, each consisting of five industry leaders. More information about the CMPA Indiescreen Awards and the 2019 nominees can be found here.


The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production, and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema, and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:

Kyle O’Byrne
Manager, Media Relations & Communications, CMPA