Press release

Sep 28, 2018

Canadian Media Producers Association unveils Executive Committee for coming fiscal year

Shaftesbury’s Scott Garvie continues role as CMPA Board Chair

TORONTO, September 28, 2018—The CMPA today announced the members of the organization’s executive committee for the 2018-2019 fiscal year. Shaftesbury’s Scott Garvie was again elected CMPA Board Chair, a role he first assumed in June 2016.

“It’s a great honour to again be chosen to lead the impressive group of diverse producers who make up our board,” said Scott Garvie, Chair of the CMPA Board of Directors and Senior Vice President at Shaftesbury. “There are a number of important issues we must address as an industry, including the federal government’s review of the Broadcasting and Telecommunications Acts, and I am confident we have the right team in place to create a bright future for independently-produced Canadian content.”

The CMPA’s President and CEO Reynolds Mastin added: “Scott has been a steady hand at the wheel during a period of tremendous change in our industry. I look forward to continuing to work with him and our entire board, on behalf of producers across Canada, to ensure great content continues to get made and reaches audiences at home and around the world.”

Members of the 2018-2019 CMPA Executive Committee

  • Chair: Scott Garvie (Shaftesbury)
  • Treasurer: Anne Loi (DHX Media)
  • Co-Vice-Chair & Secretary: Kim Todd (Original Pictures)
  • Co-Vice-Chair & Vice-Chair, New Media: Mark Bishop (marblemedia)
  • Co-Vice-Chair, Television: Jennifer Dodge (Spin Master Entertainment)
  • Co-Vice-Chair, Television: Erin Haskett (LARK Productions)
  • Co-Vice-Chair, Feature Film: Paul Pope (Pope Productions)
  • Co-Vice-Chair, Feature Film: Christina Piovesan (First Generation Films)
  • Vice-Chair, Industrial Relations: Sari Friedland (Factory Films)
  • Vice-Chair, Public Affairs: Brian Hamilton (Omnifilm Entertainment)
  • Vice-Chair, Governance: Jeremy Spry (DATSIT Sphère Inc.)
  • Vice-Chair, Mentorship: Mary Sexton (Rink Rat Productions)

– 30 –

The Canadian Media Producers Association is the national advocacy organization for independent producers, representing hundreds of companies engaged in the development, production and distribution of English-language content made for television, cinema and digital media channels. We work to promote the continued success of the Canadian production sector and to ensure a bright future for the diverse content made by our members for both domestic and international audiences.

For more information:

Kyle O’Byrne
Manager, Media Relations & Communications
Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA)